People We Trust

Click on a title below for our recommendations of local professionals.

Assisted Moving Services brings order to you and your belongings to prepare for a move that’s quick and efficient.

Liz Simple
www.lizsimple.com / lizsimple@gmail.com
607-279-5126

Lisa Marosian 
lessStuff.moreLife@gmail.com
607.589.7252

 

Local Attorneys are essential team members when buying or selling real estate.

Jonathan Albanese, Esquire
Coughlin & Gerhart LLP
www.cglawoffice.com
607-272-5212
jalbanese@cglawoffice.com

Joe Allen, Esquire
Hines & Allen
www.hinesallen.com
607-273-6111
joe@hinesallen.com

Don Crittenden, Esquire
www.harrisbeach.com
607.273.6444
dcrittenden@harrisbeach.com

Mariette Geldenhuys, Esquire
www.geldenhuyslaw.com
607-273-2272
mariette@geldenhuyslaw.com

Anna Holmberg, Esquire
Holmberg, Galbraith, Van Houten & Miller
www.hgvmlaw.com
607-273-5475
akh@hgvmlaw.com

Adam Klausner, Esquire
607-272-0800
adam@klausnerlaw.com

Randall B. (Randy) Marcus, Esquire
Barney, Grossman, Dubow, Marcus, and Orkin
607-273-6841
rmarcus@bgdmlaw.com

Michael R. May, Esquire
Levene, Gouldin and Thompson
607-272-3442
mmay@lgtlegal.com

Katrina Thaler Medeiros, Esquire
Thaler and Thaler
www.thalerandthaler.com
607-272-2314
ktmedeiros@thalerandthaler.com

David Parks, Esquire
Schlather, Stumbar, Parks & Salk, LLP
www.ithacalaw.com
607-273-2202
david@ithacalaw.com

Michael C. Perehinec Jr., Esquire
Holmberg Galbraith, LLP
www.lawithaca.com
607-273-5475
MCP@lawithaca.com

Sharon M. Sulimowicz, Esquire
607-256-0727
sharon@smsattorneyatlaw.com

Virginia A. Tesi, Esquire
Barney, Grossman, Dubow, Marcus, and Orkin
607-273-6841
vtesi@bgdmolaw.com

David A. Tyler, Esquire
Guttman & Wallace
www.davidtylerithaca.com
607-272-2102

Mark Wheeler, Esquire
www.harrisbeach.com
607.273.6444
mwheeler@harrisbeach.com

Norte’s Carpet & Upholstery Cleaning
www.nortescarpetcleaning.com
607-592-2873

Mike Butler, Sunshine Carpet Cleaning
mbutler@ithaca.edu
607-387-3304

 

 

Bobbie Shay’s Cleaning Services
www.bobbieshayscleaning.com
607-229-3309

 

 

Bob Anderson
Alternatives Federal Credit Union
Business Loan Officer
125 North Fulton St
Ithaca, NY 14850
607-216-3446
banderson@alternatives.org

Mike Cannon
Tompkins Trust Company
Main Office
The Commons
Ithaca, NY 14850
607-273-3210
MCannon@Tompkinstrust.com

Judy Peters
Corning Credit Union
Senior Commercial Lender
1 Credit Union Plaza
Corning, New York 14830-1050
607-962-3144, Ext. 472
judy.peters@corningfcu.org

Ronald Poole
Chemung Canal Trust Company
Vice President, Commercial Loans
806 West Buffalo Street
Ithaca, New York 14850
607-277-6185
rpoole@chemungcanal.com

Lloyd Shisler, Shisler Electrical Contractors
www.theelectricconnection.net / callen@lapinc.biz
607-277-6007

Pleasant Valley Electric 
www.pleasantvalleyelectric.com / sue@pleasantvalleyelectric.com
607-272-6922

Sparks Electric 
607-273-0029

Water, soil, and mold testing is often a requirement of attorneys and lenders, who require written assurance that the water supply serving a property that is poised to transfer meets the minimum standards for potable water that have been established by the local health department. In Tompkins County, the convention has been that potable water must be shown to be free of contamination by coliforms and e.coli., the presence of which suggests organic contamination of the water supply.

Soil Testing is also performed by the following businesses.

Yaws Environmental Lab
607-277-7128

Community Science Institute
www.communityscience.org
607-257-6606

Microbac Laboratory Services, Inc.
3821 Buck Drive 
Cortland, New York 13045
607-753-3403

Toxics Targeting helps property buyers check homes and businesses for more than 270,000 known or potential environmental hazards.

Toxics Targeting Inc
www.toxicstargeting.com
607-273-3391

Bill Kirk, Kirksway Farm
www.kirkswaysfarm.com / bill@kirkswayfarm.com
607-533-7866

RB Robinson Contracting 
www.robinsoncontracting.com / RBRHRinfo@robinsoncontracting.com
607-659-5153

 

Osbourne’s World of Floor Coverings 
www.osbornesflooring.com
607-753-9504

Dan Ungleich, FDR Ungleich
www.fdrungleich.com
607-387-6613

Tom Duddy, Finger Lakes Floor – Refinishing Services
607-589-7669

Jefferson Colman 
colmaj@yahoo.com
607-277-2710

Derek Driscoll, Driscoll Home Repair 
607-342.1074

Daniel Lipari, No Man Services 
daniel@nomanservices.comwww.nomanservices.com
607-351-2315

Jim Merod, JBM Construction
jbm2y@yahoo.com
607-273-1760

Steve Preheim, Ithaca Building Co.
ithacabuildingco@gmail.com
607-327-0184

 

Haul Away Services remove any and all debris including furniture and miscellaneous items necessary to get your property ready to be staged and sold quickly.

Jesse Sweet- MishMosh LLC 
ithacamishmosh@gmail.com
347-753-1941

Steve Hart- Junkman to the Rescue
www.ithacajunkman.com
347-753-1941

 

B & C HVAC Services 
www.bcheatac.com / info@bcheatac.com
607-330-2364

HSC Associates
www.hscassociates.net/ information@hscassociates.net
607-273-2180

David Warden 
wardenplumbing@twcny.rr.com
607-277-6850

Land Surveying Services identify and map the legal boundaries of an existing parcel, or a proposed subdivision or consolidation. The survey map of a property is also intended to identify and locate any existing encroachments and easements and is an important tool in resolving border disputes. Attorneys and lenders often require current surveys of a property that is poised to transfer.

TG Miller, P.C.
www.tgmillerpc.com
607-272-6477

Reagan Land Surveying
www.reaganlandsurveying.com
607-844-8837

Russler Land Surveying
www.russlersurvey.com
607-272-5227

Ian M. Sheive
www.sheivelandsurveying.com
607-351-2906

Ace Security Control, Inc. 
www.ithacalocksmith.com/ carlwillis@msn.com
607-273-8840

Precision Locks
www.precisionlocks.net/ precisionlocks@yahoo.com
607-269-4388/ 800-825-3556

Corey Brown, CB Masonry 
nycbmasonry@yahoo.com
607-745-8914

 

OB Movers 
ob-moving.com 
607-423-8678

 

Melissa Galliher, Stellar Finish Painting
stellarfinishinteriors@gmail.com

Jack McGory Painting 
tojdm18@hotmail.com
607-539-7635

Lou Ann Reckdenwald
813-417-5922

David Warden Plumbing
wardenplumbing@twcny.rr.com
607-277-6850

M&M Plumbing & Heating 
mandmpandh@aol.com
607-539-7677/ 607-280-0363

Parrot Plumbing & Heating 
607-277-3896

 

 

Property Management Firms, for a fee, assist landlords with the promotion of their properties, locate and sign leases with new tenants, manage existing tenants, and provide ongoing repair and maintenance to their clients’ properties. Property management firms often collect rents, perform bookkeeping services, and generate reports.

CSP Management
www.cspmanagement.com
607-277-6961
info@cspmanagement.com

Service Connection, owner Kathleen Bierce
www.serviceconnection.cc
607-277-1929
kbierce@twcny.rr.com

Residential Lenders help buyers with financing for their new homes or investment property.

Brendan Burns, Market Leader
Movement Mortgage
www.movement.com
607.768.5222
brendan.burns@movement.com

Stephanie Klym, Mortgage Officer
Tompkins Trust Company, Ithaca, NY
www.tompkinstrust.com
607.266.5453
SKlym@tompkinsfinancial.com

Judy Malys, Mortgage Officer
Tompkins Trust Company, Ithaca, NY
www.tompkinstrust.com
607.266.5485
JMalys@tompkinsfinancial.com

Patrick Mitchell, LoanOfficer
Ithaca Neighborhood Housing, Ithaca, NY
www.ithacanhs.org
607.277.4500 x 216
pmitchell@ithacanhs.org

Jennifer Rich, Mortgage Consultant
1st Priority Mortgage, Inc, Ithaca, NY
www.1stprioritymortgage.com
607.257.6767
jrich@1stprioritymortgage.com

Kimberly Rozell, Mortgage Loan Sales Assoc.
CFCU Community Credit Union, Ithaca, NY
www.mycfcu.com
607-257-3282 x 3610/607-229-5008
kimberly.rozell@mycfcu.com

Taryn Schwartz, Loan Officer
Elmira Savings Bank, Ithaca, NY
www.elmirasavingsbank.com
607-275-3584
tschwartz@elmirasavingsbank.com

Philip Shay, Mortgage Originator
Alternatives Federal Credit Union
www.alternatives.org
607.227.3482
pshay@alternatives.org

Laurie Whiting, Mortgage Originator
Chemung Canal Trust Company
www.chemungcanal.com
607.738.1162
lwhiting@chemungcanal.com

Septic Pumping Services guarantee that private sewage treatment systems are in good working order. Prior to closing, most attorneys and lenders require that the septic system be pumped, inspected, and certified, to ensure this. In Tompkins County, this is typically the sellers’ expense.

Clean Earth Septic Service
607-564-7931
cleanearth09@yahoo.com

Gaggle Co Inc
607-539-7868

Johns Septic Service
607-532-9275

Mark Thomas Septic Service
607-539-7842
ltt1@frontiernet.net

Minteer Construction Company
607-564-9933

Javier Rosa – Taitem Engineering 
www.taitem.com / info@taitem.com
607-277-1118

Thomas Moorhoff, PE, SE
thomas.moorhoff@gmail.com
347-536-4522

Chuck Feiszli, Feiszli Engineering
607-753-9623

Structural Inspectors conduct thorough inspections (usually running 2-3 hours) of the property being considered for purchase. Structural inspectors are licensed and certified in New York State, and most inspectors are willing to evaluate residential, investment and commercial properties. Some clients employ inspectors before their property goes onto the market; some homeowners have occasional inspections to assist them in identifying upcoming repairs.

In the Ithaca area, some structural inspectors offer additional services such as radon testing, some forms of lead testing, monitoring of heat loss, and advice on energy conservation. For current pricing and information, please refer to the links below.

Harley Campbell and Dave Davies
www.campbelldaviesllc.com
607-346-2075

Harry Harvey
www.pillartopost.com
607-795-3301

Rick Rosoff
www.ithacahomeinspectionservice.com
607-218-7487

Larry Sharpsteen
www.perspectiveservices.com
607-533-4991

Kodiak Tree Service, Newfield 
www.kodiaktreeserviceny.com / info@kodiaktreeserviceny.com
607-256-5332

Mark Carver, Treetops Tree Service 
marksc112@yahoo.com
607-387-3916

Morgan Thompson, Thompson Tree & Crane Service 
www.thompsontreecrane.com / info@thompsontreecrane.com
607-592-1686

William Case, W. Case Tree Service 
william_case@aol.com
607-539-6755

 

Inlet Glass & Mirror 
www.inletglassandmirror.com / sales@inletglassandmirror
607-272-3015

Shad Ryan, On Balance Solutions
www.onbalancesolutions.com / shad@onbalancesolutions.com
607-592-6458

Superior Glass Service, LLC
www.superiorglassithaca.com
607-273-9100